Living a Life of Joy!

I started my day with my normal thought patterns on my life, my loved ones, the way I view the world, it was the same “stinkin thinkin” that keeps me “in a box.” I thought about how the people around me are getting older, and how time is always moving, things that I simply cannot control, but always managed to make me sad. I thought about an author Kay Warren, and the book that she wrote a few years ago, “Choose Joy.” In this book, she emphasized that although we cannot control our surroundings and the things in it, we can control how much joy we have in our lives. I thought about that, choosing joy! It came to me, that my relationship with God, and actually putting my trust in Him, is the surest and quickest way to obtaining joy in my life. I can’t control circumstances, or people in my life. We all must make a conscious decision, and effort to maintain relationships, love, and live life.

We are all given a certain time frame to live on Earth, and that this world is truly temporary. We have a whole other life full of joy and love awaiting us on day, trying to hold on to something in this world, and the things in it, including people is crazy! We were never suppose to be permanent residents here, and truly, if you think about it, in a world this ugly, who would want to be? I can spend my time, trying to slow down the process of life, and the people in it, or embrace the time, days, and moments we are giving, and maximize the joy that it can bring. I choose life! I choose to love those around me, while they are around me, and to enjoy the adventures and opportunities that God gives me with each passing day!

I took a picture of myself this morning, to put a date and time stamp on the changes that will occur in my life. In the process of the journey of seeking a positive transformation of Joy and love, that comes from God, I plan to share my experiences with others! What do I truly expect to happen? First, I will seek God and His will for my life! The surest and most practical way to do that, will begin with His Word, His Promises, daily!!! I love that! I love that word Promise! I love the fact that God is there, and loves me unconditionally, no matter what! I love the fact that He says in His Word, that If I seek Him, I will find Him!

I love that He is there open arms, and that there is nothing that will ever change that! I love that He tells us in the Bible, If we desire knowledge, that all we have to do is ask for it! (James 1:5). The Bible is so full of answers, every question that you will ever have in life, is answered in that book! Reading James has helped me understand that true wisdom only comes from God. Wisdom is the “ability to see the world through the eyes of God.” I love this verse, “If you are wise and understand God’s ways, prove it by living an honorable life, doing good works with the humility that comes from wisdom.” (James 3:13). What does all this mean? It means that if I seek wisdom from God, He will give it to me. Having wisdom that comes from Him is pure, it brings peace, love, gentleness, and the ability to give to others. It means that the inner peace and love that I have inside will radiate out to others, sharing His love and gift of life with others.
What is the first step to this transformation? James tells me right there in the Bible, James 4:7-10, “So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash you hands you sinners, purify your hearts, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world. Let there be tears for what you have done. (repent).Let there be sorrow and deep grief. Let there be sadness instead of laughter, and gloom instead of joy. Humble yourself before the Lord, and He will lift you up in honor.”   What does this passage mean?   Give your heart, life, and soul back to God. Truly repent, and ask for forgiveness in a way that is not fake, or shallow in thought. Give him your life, to live through him, for Him, and In Him!

What I love about God is this, I can give him all my “negative’s” and trade them in for His goodness! In Faith, and that is the key, Faith meaning, no matter what, trusting Him, knowing that He is in control, and will do in love for me, what He wills!

In retrospect, I choose Joy! I choose God’s love~ I will take every trial and trouble, and look for the good in it. I will use them as they come, as an opportunity to help others, to bring joy, and compassion and love to others!

Are you with me? Are you ready for this journey? I would love to hear from you, share your thoughts via the comment section, and or contact me!

Peace!

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Christian walk, Spiritual Journey
One comment on “Living a Life of Joy!
  1. please read my post below in my blog, If you feel the way I do, I invite you to join me on my Journey. Like a musician, I am going “On Tour, coast to Coast on Seeking a Lifetime of Joy.” I plan to journal, share, grow, implement a healthier lifestyle, Are you in? I hope to communicate with you daily via chats, posts, emails etc… I am creating an email list now, so this is day 1… My email is pollardtl@cox.net.

    Like

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

