A Shifting in My Focus

This week in my Bible Study,  “Transformed” by Rick Warren we covered a topic that I always seem to avoid, “Finances.”  In the past, even in reading Scripture, I would always seem to “skip over”  the Scriptures that talked about money, and I wondered why I had so many issues in this area! I know that I am a very giving person with money, I will give it all away, but the problem you see was that I wasn’t being obedient in giving it to God for Him to decide where it needed to go.  I tithed today for the first time in a long time, and it was a really great experience.

“Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this, says the Lord Almighty, and “see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.”  Malachi 3:10. (NIV)

This is the only place in the Bible where God tells us to put him to the test. He knows that as he shows himself to be faithful, our heart for giving will only increase.” (Rick Warren).

Aligning my thinking to God’s in this area is critical as well. What is important to me, may not be important to God. I need to be content with what I have, and I  stay still and quiet long enough for God to reveal to me, His plans for me.

“A Blessing is not a purchase, it is a gift. If you only give to God in order to get exactly what you want, you are thinking too small.” (Rick Warren).

I have come to discover that blessings in life, are not always money. The ability to help one another,  healing from sickness, God’s Grace and Mercy that we receive daily, minute by minute, those are the true blessings in life!

The biggest blessing in all is Spiritual, helping others to see the love of Christ, allowing them to receive God’s greatest gift of all our Salvation. I have learned that when I pray for others needs, I pray for their spiritual needs to be met first, to know Christ, all the other requests are secondary to this one.

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Posted in Biblical Principles, Blessings, faith, Faith walk, Rick Warren, Saddleback Church

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

