What Will Your Family Know About You?

Genealogy is one of my favorite hobbies. I absolutely love researching, and scrolling through old records, pieces together information that will create a story, a story of my family’s life. When I research a name, I am not just researching vital records but I am researching that person as well. What kind of person was she? How did he take care of his family Who were their friends? What was the socio-economic situation in the area that they lived? Where there any health epidemics that they faced? All the bits of data that I pull together to form the environment of that person that I am researching.

One of the most important pieces of information I try to gather is Did they know God? Did they love God? Time after time, I found that their were different denomination in my family tree: Anabaptists, Amish, Huguenots, Baptist, Methodist, Quakers… so many different denominations but most importantly I know that they loved God. There were many ministers in the lineage, and interestingly enough, many that suffered religious persecution because of their faith. Jesus said that would happen in his Word, but to actually see the history of time in front of you was amazing. One of my family lines is the Hochstetler’s who came from Switzerland as Anabaptists, and then when they came over to America were Amish. Jacob and his wife Anna Hochstetler, and some of their children were attacked by Indians, and because of their Amish faith, Jacob forbid his sons to fire upon the Indians, resulting in Anna and two of her children being murdered and the remaining sons taken and kept by the Indians for years. (http://www.berkshistory.org/articles/hoch.html)

Thinking about my generation, what will my descendants know about me? Will they be able to see that I loved Jesus? Will they know that I lived my life for Him? Realizing that my future generation of family will not be able to talk to me, to get to know me personally, but will rely on bits of information that they research or are told from stories passed down from one generation to another.

Think about your situation, what will your family see? What will they find out about you? Will they know that you lived your life as an example for Christ? Remember they will not be able to talk to you personally, so they will form preconceived notions in their head about you, I am hoping that they are what you would like your family to know about you, food for thought!

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Family

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

