Affliction and Addiction

Broken-ShacklesI was watching television this morning and Beth Moore was on Life Today. Her message this morning was talking about Overcoming Affliction in our lives. It was very interesting. Beth said, “Affliction can be defined or references as “to force, to try to force into submission. Affliction always involves submission.” Very interesting point, to be addicted to something means to submit to the desire of the subject. To allow it to overcome your will, your spirit, your being in a negative way. Then I thought more about it, and Beth referenced, “God can use an affliction”. If you are thinking of an addiction as something we submit too, He draws us to submit to him for delivery of that addiction.

Psalm 25:18 Consider my affliction and trouble, and take away all my sins.

Psalm 25:19 Consider my enemies; they are numerous, and they hate me violently.

Psalm 25:20 Guard me and deliver me; do not let me be put to shame, for I take refuge in You.

We always want to pray for deliverance of something other than God that has power over our lives. God can choose to deliver us in several different ways. He has the power of “Supremacy” and that is to completely deliver us from the addiction, take away the desire in use or remain in whatever our addiction was, or more often, use his sufficiency as a method of our recovery. What I mean is he may stop the addiction, but leave us with the desire or craving. If He choses to leave us with the craving, it can be used to draw us closer to Him. One way or another, if we know that without God’s help, we will never make it, or will never stay clean; then a person who desires abstinence will continually be drawn to God and always seek Him for our strength! I really like the point that Beth Moore made on the show. She said, ” If a person knows and cries out to God, I will never make it without you, I need you today, then the person will continuously seek out God day after day for healing! It makes sense, God’s desire is for us to know Him, to seek Him, to love Him. Why would he want to put us in a position of self-dependency? I truly believe that because God loves us and is full of His Grace and Mercy, He would not leave us in our own mess! What a disaster we would make if everything revolved around ourselves!

2 Corinthians 12:7 especially because of the extraordinary revelations. Therefore, so that I would not exalt myself, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to torment me so I would not exalt myself.

2 Corinthians 12:8 Concerning this, I pleaded with the Lord three times to take it away from me.

2 Corinthians 12:9 But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore, I will most gladly boast all the more about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may reside in me.

2 Corinthians 12:10 So I take pleasure in weaknesses, insults, catastrophes, persecutions, and in pressures, because of Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Addiction

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

