Teacher

Letting Go.....Yesterday was freshman night at the local high school where my daughter will be attending next year.  I could see the excitement building in her as we walked down the hallways, each person in our party having their own agenda’s for the night. My husband was looking for the room that talked about college preparation, I was looking for the class scheduling, and Ali was looking down the hallway to see which one of her friends were there so she could socialize. I realized at that moment that my little girl was growing up very fast, and was entering the realm of making adult decisions about her life. She told me later that night, that she was excited to finally make, “adult decisions” with her life.  Reflecting back now on that conversation, I also remember me telling her about a young man in the next town over, a year or two older than she that had recently passed away. I shared with Ali that this was a vibrant young soccer player, who they believe had went to the Emergency room the night before he died because he had hurt his wrist in gym at school and was prescribed pain medications. The rumor in his town is that apparently this child may have taken all of his Vicoden that were prescribed to him, causing his death.   I asked my daughter if she had ever tried any narcotics or drugs? She said to me that she had not, but with further probing stated that she was curious. I explained to her that we do not know why this young man passed away, that in fact, it could be that maybe he had an allergic reaction to the medication, we do not know at this point. The point I was trying to get her to understand is that we often do not know the end result of something until it is out of our control. Our child growing up is another factor out of our control. The child takes all the life component pieces that they have been given and start piecing them together to form their own person, their own personal jigsaw puzzle. Each piece of the puzzle represents something they have either learned, places they have been, or people who have made an impact on their life linking together piece by piece to create a large visual picture or map of life. 

I thought about this, what have I really instilled in my child? What have other people, often beyond my control instilled in my child? Is she going to know the right way, the right answer to prevent heartache later on for her life? Do I even know what the correct answer was when I gave her guidance in the first place? I am referring in this article to one child, but I am speaking in my heart about all of my children. How do I know? The answer is, I don’t know. It is safe for me to presume that I have probably given her lot of wrong answers through the years, but I know that I have introduced her to Jesus. The One who does know, the maker and creator of life!  The real question is am I continuously feeding her the way to find Jesus when she needs Him?

Proverbs 22:6, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in children, Life

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

