To Be Reminded….

I took my daughter to gymnastics’s today just like every other Saturday, and while I was waiting for her, I realized that I was feeling completely overwhelmed and stressed out! I know that I had alot to do today, things to get done to prepare for her sleepover tonight to celebrate her birthday; errands to run, but nothing that would have me with this heavy heart and feeling of doom. To describe what it physically felt like, would be to describe anxiety, but it was more than that, it was Spiritual. I recently started a job working at home, while training this week, I realized that I was burning up a whole lot of busy work, which allowed me little time for anything else. I hadn’t even read my Bible in the last few days. How in a matter of four or five days could I experience such a peace, and then go to what I would describe as stress, and darkness? I knew what it was, it was satan. I realized that he had me busy, and I took my eye’s off the Lord. The busyness of everything, had gotten to the point where I hadn’t even prayed much, come to think of it. It had been a few days since Jesus and I had our time. It’s amazing, it does not take very long, a matter of hours or even days to get yourself back in a dark place. When Peter took his eyes off Jesus, while he was walking on water, he immediately sank!

On the way home from gymnastics, I prayed. I prayed and asked for forgiveness, and expressed my true desire to love, honor and walk with Him. After I prayed, I felt that peace again, the calmness, that worry, the anxiety, all immediately disappeared! I finished the rest of my day with my daughter, in a calm and joyous way, we had a good time together.

Later on that afternoon, as I was sitting down to peruse through my books that I just received to review and blog, I noticed a passage that the book was referring too. I wrote it down and looked it up, Hebrews 12:22-13:2. What I usually do when I read Scripture, is start at the beginning of that chapter that I am reviewing so I can get a real feel of what I am reading. I started at Hebrews 12:1 and read all the way down to verse twenty two.

Hebrews 12:1-6
New International Version (NIV)

12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

God Disciplines His Children

4 In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. 5 And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,

“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,
and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,
6 because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”
 
Although it was discipline, it was refreshing! I put Him back in control, in the driver’s seat of my life knowing I am not to make any decisions without Him! I know that when I am in control, I make a mess, and its often such a big mess, that I do not have the desire or ability to clean it up!  I am not one who enjoys cleaning up, so I think I will just be obedient and let Him lead! What do you think?
 
Peace….
 
 
I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “To Be Reminded….
  1. Missy says:

    Amen, what a refreshing blog thread. I really enjoyed it and it blessed me so much this will be my devotional for the morning. It's very easy to lose sight and get 2 busy. This last year I have learnt how to say no thanks in church. I am only on 1 ministry now and I serve every other month with the Youth.It was hard saying "no thanks" but harder not spending time with God. Its funny Traci I never realized how important that time was. I kept thinking OM 2 goodness why would folks reduce their time with God to 2 hours a day, and honestly I still feel the same.But I realize now that is not the only time I spend with the Lord but it is His time. In the same way I am intentional about carving out time to work out, or watch "The Biggest Loser", and all the other things in life this time is also important…I'm reminded right now of this piece of scripture…Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.Thanks for this blessing and reminder to keep God first in all things!!!

    Like

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

