Spiritual Journey Day 4- I am getting it!

The last couple of days I have been really digging into what God defines as “Holiness.” In a great desire to please HIM, I am really seeking what His Word says about this, His thoughts, His aspirations for us, all of that.

Reading 2 Peter 3:8, it says,” But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years like a day. 9. The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.” He goes on to say but the day is coming, and we are to live our lives, “Holy and Godly as we look forward to the day that HE comes for us.

I wasn’t sure what Holiness to him meant, and what qualities should I be seeking out. 2 Peter 2:5 states “For this very reason, (to participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption of the world caused by evil) , make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6. and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness. 7. and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. 8. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Seems pretty simple right? Okay, I admit, its going to be a lifelong process. I read something yesterday that your life is a journey. Your past is your past, and although will not change the road already taken, your future with God’s Grace and Mercy could change the outcome. I know that because of His grace, I don’t have to dwell in yesterday’s past. I use it as a teaching tool, but have learned to move on to “bigger and better things” that the Lord has for me.

Sanctification, ah such a big word with so much meaning. Its a journey, a life long journey, of the process of Holiness, but deeper than that. It is described as, “more than a mere moral reformation of character, brought about by the power of the truth, it is the work of the Holy Spirit bringing the whole nature more and more under the influence of the new gracious principles implanted in the soul of regeneration.” The office of the Holy Spirit, in the plan of redemption to carry on this work. (1 Cor 6:11, 2 Thes. 2:13).  Perfect sanctification is not attainable in this life ( 1 Kings 8:46, Prov 20:9, Eccl. 7:20, James 3:2,1 and 1 John 1:8). “The more holy a man is, the more humble, self-renouncing, self-abhorring, and the more sensitive to every sin he becomes, and the more closely he clings to Christ.”

Will I ever come even remotely close a fraction of what I seek to be? I don’t know, but I am going to keep trying, praying, seeking him, repenting when I have to, and Glorifying His name. I know that it is a daily walk, but I also realize that God purposely made it that way, so that you would continuously  seek him daily!

Just a few notes I thought I would share.
Peace

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Posted in God, Holiness, Sanctification, Spiritual Journey

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

