God, Can I Ask You Something? Spiritual Journey 3 (I Think)…Holiness

God, it’s me again…. Can I ask you something? Why is it so hard to be good? I mean really. I am talking about the good that I need to be, to be in your presence? Not just nice every once in a while, or saying hello to the neighbor. But on that deep core level, the conscious, the character. Do you think because I obviously struggle, and was never aware how much I struggled, until I really tried…. Does this make me a bad person? Let’s be real… I am having a hard time being nice!

I am reading the Bible, alot! Not just for my assignments, but getting into it you… As you know, I am reading about 15 books at a time, but one of the ones I am reading now, ” A Woman’s Journey toward Holiness.” by Sheila Cragg talks about  Holiness in Chapter one. Week one, states “Respond to Christ’s Call to be Holy.

“But just as he who called you is Holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: Be holy, because I am holy.” 1 Peter 1:15-16.

She starts by talking about a locked door, and fumbling with the key and lock trying to open. She writes, “an ordinary experience, such as trying to unlock the door, may be the means by which the Lord makes Himself known to us. God is knocking, wait… I haven’t straightened up the house yet!

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.” Rev. 3:20

Reality check: God is knocking, but you may not be ready. It’s a good thing, God will meet us right where we are at, and is Patient! But he doesn’t change his standards. We have to be up to His Standards.

The book goes on to say, that we will know its Him knocking, by the fact once we open the door, He isn’t expecting perfection, but a simple humble, and honest asking of , “Lord, help me to be the godly person you desire to me to be.” If your like me, you may be still waiting for the list of standards to be passed around, all joking aside, you may not have a clue whats next~

Attempting to lead a holy life is similar to the lock that is stuck or difficult to operate. There are those who have no problem and move right through the process, and those that may struggle a bit. It’s okay.. Keep trying!

“Once we get that door open, we will realize that Jesus has been speaking to us all along, through His Word, or a persistent spiritual yearning. He is making us aware of our need for a deep personal communion with Him, awakening within us the desire to become more like Him and our longing for a deeper devotional life.” (emphasis mine.)

The Word says, “Ask and it will be given you, seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened.” (Matt 7:7)

What do you say once the door is opened? I am asking for a desire to be Holy (getting real here, there are days, I don’t even want to be), seek after a fruitful, spiritual filled life. Knock until, “the door of your heart opens to the Lord.” Letting Him come in and transform my life.

One final note for today, the book brought up a good point that I was just thinking…. OK, for me, I will have to open the door a few times! It addresses that issue! It states, “To lead a holy life, we need to keep on turning the key, keep on listening for the click until the key catches, and keep on pushing the door until it opens. How many times do we unlock doors in our lifetime? We must repeat the process of seeking to lead a holy life time and time again.”

Ok, I am going to break that down for you, its more than a “several times in a lifetime” thing for opening the doors, it is a daily, minute by minute conversation with God sometimes, “ok, I am here again, Help me!” God is so good, as many times as I have had this conversation with Him, he has never gotten impatient or harsh with me. It has always been me, being harder on myself than need be!

Back tomorrow, for the continuation on this lock thing, next  it will go into, “Receiving God’s Grace.”

Until tomorrow,
Peace

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Posted in Christian, God, Holiness, keys, Real

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

