Self-Empowered or Spirit-Filled? An Article by Zondervan

Self-Empowered or Spirit-Filled?
Can I make a small confession? Every once in a while when I’m at the gym I’ll be using some weight equipment where you determine how much weight you’ll be lifting by moving a stopper up and down on a set of weights … But when I get up to leave, do you know what I do? I nonchalantly move the stopper from forty pounds to around seventy pounds so the next person will surely think to himself, That guy’s got some impressive triceps …That’s what we do most of our lives — we try to reinforce this perception that we really are strong…
In Paul’s Second letter to the Corinthians he spoke about how acknowledging our weakness makes room for Christ’s power [see 2 Cor. 12:9-10]. [Also, Paul reminds followers in Galatia] who had stopped living in the Spirit’s power and had started to depend on themselves how foolish that is … “Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit” (Gal. 5:25). The picture is of someone walking, and every step they take, they take in the Spirit…
Being filled with the Holy Spirit is often thought of and talked about in a very ethereal way while following Jesus seems to be more physical. I wanted to find a way to better explain or illustrate what it looks like when … a follower is filled with the Holy Spirit. I asked my Facebook friends to finish this sentence for me, “By the power of the Holy Spirit…” Within twenty-four hours I had over 100 responses:

I finally forgave my dad…
I lost 150 pounds and quit smoking…
We have adopted two boys from Ethiopia…
I am four years sober…
I am able to raise my special needs child, even as a single mom…
My marriage was saved…
My child returned home after three years of silence…
I found peace when my husband passed away and I thought my life was over…

Story after story from followers who are filled with the Holy Spirit … What’s your story?
Not a Fan: Becoming a Completely Committed Follower of Jesus, by Kyle Idleman
Q: “By the power of the Holy Spirit, I was able to __________.” Share your story on Facebook

Learn more about Not a Fan ShareThis Share This

Like this? Subscribe to the Daily Inspiration email, sent to you Monday-Friday from Zondervan

I absolutely love teaching, reading, Genealogy, Bible Studies, spending time with my family and friends!

Posted in Uncategorized

What do you think? Share your thoughts...

Join 340 other followers

Categories
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Archives
Follow The Word As We Learn It on WordPress.com
Top Clicks
  • None

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

